Switching · checked 2026-09-02
Best Zaprite alternatives in 2026
Merchants replacing Zaprite land on one of three options. OpenNode suits bitcoin and Lightning with fiat settlement, charging only when money moves rather than monthly. Coinsnap fits bitcoin and Lightning with euro payout and eleven shop platforms, for invoicing that lives inside a storefront. BTCPay Server covers the same networks at no cost at all, self-hosted, with recurring invoicing and a point of sale included. Rates below reflect published rates checked in August 2026.
Quick verdict
Bitcoin and Lightning with fiat settlement, charging only when money moves rather than monthly.
Bitcoin and Lightning with euro payout and eleven shop platforms, for invoicing that lives inside a storefront.
The same networks at no cost at all, self-hosted, with recurring invoicing and a point of sale included.
Why do merchants look for a Zaprite alternative?
A 25 dollar monthly subscription is charged whether or not any payment is taken, which no other provider in this index does. Checked 2026-09-02 against the provider's own page.
Bitcoin and Tether are the only supported assets, with no broader list of any kind. Checked 2026-09-02 against the provider's own page.
Zaprite at a glance
| Processing from | 1% |
|---|---|
| Assets | 2+ |
| Merchant verification | Not disclosed |
| Custody | Not documented |
| Checked | 2026-09-02 against its own pricing page |
Leaving is not the only conclusion this page supports. 4.8 on the published weights means the provider publishes enough to be compared honestly, which is already more than half the category manages. Before migrating, check the reasons above against the full card and decide which criterion in the method weighs most for you.
How do these alternatives compare?
Method| Gateway | Score | From | Assets | Verification | Settles fiat | Discloses |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| | 4.8 | 1% | 2 | Not disclosed | 58% | |
| | 6.1 | — | 1 | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% |
| | 4.8 | — | 1 | Not disclosed | Yes | 53% |
| | 7.7 | 0% | None stated | No | 74% |
3 best alternatives to Zaprite
OpenNode
Who it fits. Bitcoin and Lightning with fiat settlement, charging only when money moves rather than monthly.
| Processing from | — |
|---|---|
| Conversion | 0% |
| Payouts | On-chain scheduled and Lightning on-demand free; on-chain on-demand 1% |
| Assets | 1+ across Bitcoin, Lightning |
| Verification | Not disclosed |
The full OpenNode card has its strengths, its gaps and the fields it declines to publish.
Coinsnap
Who it fits. Bitcoin and Lightning with euro payout and eleven shop platforms, for invoicing that lives inside a storefront.
| Processing from | — |
|---|---|
| Conversion | Not published |
| Payouts | Not published |
| Assets | 1+ across Bitcoin, Lightning |
| Verification | Not disclosed |
The full Coinsnap card has its strengths, its gaps and the fields it declines to publish.
BTCPay Server
Who it fits. The same networks at no cost at all, self-hosted, with recurring invoicing and a point of sale included.
| Processing from | 0% |
|---|---|
| Conversion | 0% |
| Payouts | None charged by the software; the merchant pays only the network fee from a wallet they control |
| Assets | Not published across Bitcoin, Lightning |
| Verification | None stated |
The full BTCPay Server card has its strengths, its gaps and the fields it declines to publish.
On this page
The subscription is the recorded complaint#
Twenty-five dollars a month, or two hundred and forty a year, charged regardless of volume. Nothing else in this index bills that way, and for a business taking a payment a quarter it is dead weight.
The included credit blunts it: twenty-five dollars of transaction fees a month, three hundred a year on the annual plan. Below that ceiling the subscription is the entire bill and the arrangement is clean.
What leaving costs you, and it is a lot#
The fee cap. Transaction fees stop at fifteen dollars regardless of payment size, which on a five thousand dollar invoice is 0.3% and at fifty thousand is 0.03%. Nothing else on this site approaches that.
For a firm invoicing in the thousands, leaving is expensive by an order of magnitude. Run your own average invoice value against fifteen dollars before reading any further, because that single number may end this page.
Two assets, and one of them is a stablecoin#
Bitcoin across on-chain, Lightning and Liquid, plus Tether, with dollar payments accepted alongside. Liquid support is rare and points at a Bitcoin-native audience.
Two replacements here drop Tether entirely and support Bitcoin alone. If a customer paying in dollars-on-chain matters, only the third route preserves it and it does so by leaving this product category.
Invoicing is the product, not checkout#
Recurring invoices, payment requests and payment links are first-class, with a single WooCommerce plugin behind them. This is an accounts-receivable tool that settles in bitcoin rather than a gateway.
Two of the three replacements are gateways. Moving to one means keeping invoices wherever they live today and treating the provider as a payment endpoint, which is a different monthly workflow.
Where each replacement lands#
OpenNode keeps Bitcoin and Lightning, adds fiat settlement, and charges only when money moves: on-chain scheduled and Lightning on-demand free, on-chain on-demand at one percent.
Coinsnap keeps the same networks, offers euro payout to a bank account and brings eleven shop platforms, which suits a business whose invoicing already lives in a storefront.
The free-product wrinkle disappears#
Payment requests, invoices, recurring invoices, payment links and the point of sale carry no transaction fee here; only the API, the WooCommerce plugin and event tickets do.
No replacement prices that way. Every one of them charges on the payment regardless of which surface produced it, so a business relying on the free manual products will feel the change immediately.
Custody is unstated here and answered elsewhere#
No custody model appears on the public pages, which for a tool handling invoices is the question a reader should want answered first. Two replacements state theirs plainly.
One is custodial with fiat settlement; one is non-custodial with none. Establish which you have today before deciding which you want, because the answer may already be the one you prefer.
Nobody publishes an operating entity#
This card records jurisdiction as not stated. One replacement names a United States company; one names nobody; one is an open-source project with no company at all.
For a firm sending large invoices that gap matters more than it does for a shop taking small payments, because the amount resting with a counterparty at any moment is correspondingly larger.
The arithmetic that decides this page#
Take twelve months of payments, count how many exceeded fifteen hundred dollars, and compute what one percent would have cost on each without a cap.
If that figure exceeds the annual subscription by a comfortable margin, this provider is the cheapest option available to you and no replacement here changes that.
The case for staying#
For consultancies, agencies and professional firms billing in four figures, this is the cheapest arrangement on this site and the invoicing is better than anything else here offers.
The subscription is only dead weight below the included credit. Above it, the cap is doing work that no per-transaction provider can replicate at any rate.
What a switch actually takes here#
Recurring invoices do not transfer between providers, so every active arrangement has to be reissued and every customer told. That is a communications project rather than an integration one.
The historical invoice record is the other piece. Export it before the subscription lapses, because an accounts-receivable history is not something to rebuild from bank statements.
Who this actually competes with#
Not the gateways on this page so much as an accountant with a spreadsheet and a wallet address. That is the arrangement most bitcoin-invoicing firms have, and it is free until somebody counts the hours.
Judged against that baseline the subscription is cheap and the cap is irrelevant. Judged against a payment gateway it looks expensive, which is why the choice depends entirely on what you are replacing.
How to migrate from Zaprite
- Count the invoices above fifteen hundred dollars. The fee cap only binds above roughly that figure. Twelve months of payment history and one column of arithmetic will show whether leaving costs you money, and for many firms it does.
- Export the invoice history before cancelling. An accounts-receivable record is not reconstructable from bank statements. Pull the full export while the subscription is still active, because access ends with the billing period rather than with a grace window.
- Reissue every recurring arrangement. Recurring invoices do not move between providers and each customer has to accept the new one. Write the notification email before touching any integration, since customer response sets the real timeline.
- Check whether Tether is still needed. Two of the three replacements are Bitcoin only. Look at how much revenue arrived as Tether over the last year before assuming a Bitcoin-only destination is equivalent to what you have.
- Establish the destination's custody model. It is unstated here, so you may not know what you are leaving. Ask each replacement whether funds rest in a provider balance and for how long, and get the answer before the first invoice is sent.
Questions merchants ask
Why do merchants leave Zaprite?
A 25 dollar monthly subscription is charged whether or not any payment is taken, which no other provider in this index does. Bitcoin and Tether are the only supported assets, with no broader list of any kind. Both points were checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02.
What is the closest alternative to Zaprite?
OpenNode is the closest substitute for most merchants: Bitcoin and Lightning with fiat settlement, charging only when money moves rather than monthly. It scores 6.1 against 4.8 on the same published weights.
Is switching crypto payment gateway difficult?
Small technically, larger operationally: reconciliation and refunds change, and neither appears in an integration guide.
Will I lose payment history when I switch?
Not if you export before closing, which is the step everyone does last. No retention period is published.