Head to head · checked 2026-09-02
Radom vs NOWPayments
Subscriptions and payouts from two providers with opposite fee shapes. Radom charges 0.5% plus a flat fifty cents, settles fiat, and is incorporated in the Cook Islands. NOWPayments charges a flat 1%, publishes more than three hundred and fifty assets, and settles to a wallet you control.
How do Radom and NOWPayments differ?
Weights| Gateway | Score | From | Assets | Verification | Settles fiat | Discloses |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| | 6.0 | 0.5% | 12 | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% |
| | 8.0 | 1% | 350 | Not disclosed | 68% |
Scoring Radom against NOWPayments
| Criterion | Weight | Radom | NOWPayments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assets, networks and geography How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works. | 25 | 6 | 9 |
| All-in cost Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone. | 25 | 8 | 8 |
| Onboarding and verification What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright. | 20 | 5 | 8 |
| Integrations and API Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone. | 18 | 5 | 8 |
| Support and operations Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends. | 12 | 5 | 6 |
| Weighted total | 6.0 | 8.0 |
Where the two diverge
Scored 0–10 · checked 2026-09-02
Radom NOWPayments
On this page
The fixed fifty cents is the fork#
Radom charges half a percent plus fifty cents. NOWPayments charges a flat one percent with no fixed component.
The crossover sits near a hundred dollars. Above it the fixed-fee card is cheaper and the gap widens; below it the flat rate wins and keeps winning as the ticket shrinks.
On a ten dollar order the fixed-fee card takes 5.5% against one percent. That is not a rounding difference and no other line on this page reverses it.
Twelve assets against three hundred and fifty#
One publishes twelve or more cryptocurrencies across ten or more blockchains; the other publishes the longest asset list in this index across seven networks.
The shapes differ as much as the sizes. A short list on many chains is a stablecoin product; a long list on fewer chains is a consumer-checkout product.
For business-to-business invoicing the short list is correct and the long one is inventory nobody touches. For a marketplace meeting unpredictable holdings it is the other way round.
Both do subscriptions, and one does them as a product#
Recurring billing is documented on both cards, which is unusual: most of this index treats a subscription as a repeated one-off charge.
One treats it as a named product alongside mass payouts and itemised invoicing, which is a platform-shaped offering. The other lists it among a broad feature set aimed at merchants generally.
Ask both whether recurring means retries and dunning or only repeated charges. The word covers both arrangements and the difference is a month of engineering.
Fiat settlement exists on one side#
Settlement into bank currency is documented on the fixed-fee card and recorded as unpublished on the other, which is close to structural: a non-custodial system that never holds a balance does not push bank transfers on a schedule.
For a business whose accounting runs in dollars, that single line may end the comparison before the fee arithmetic starts.
For one content to hold stablecoins, it is a feature that will never be switched on and the fee shape decides everything.
Custody: unstated against stated#
The non-custodial position is published plainly on one card. The other leaves the custody model blank, which for a provider settling both crypto and fiat is the field a reader should want filled first.
That blank sits alongside a Cook Islands incorporation and fiat partners who are described but not named. Three unanswered questions in the same area.
The other card is quiet about its own jurisdiction too, so on corporate disclosure neither is comfortable. Only one of them at least settles the custody question.
Neither names a plugin#
A prebuilt hosted checkout and an API on one side; no named ecommerce integrations at all on the other. Both expect the merchant to have developers.
That is consistent with the audiences: platforms and marketplaces rather than shops. It also means a WooCommerce store gets nothing from either card.
The WordPress list covers the providers who have done that work, and neither of these appears on it.
Both do publish a hosted checkout or invoice product, so a merchant without engineers is not locked out entirely. It is a link on a page rather than a checkout inside a store, and the difference shows up in conversion.
What each publishes beyond the headline#
One publishes donations at one percent, on-ramp and off-ramp at one percent each, and states that instant payouts carry no additional fee. That is a fuller price list than most of this index offers.
The other publishes a single rate and nothing else, leaving conversion and payout blank.
Both sit at sixty-eight percent disclosure. Level on the measure, and the fuller price list is on the card with the weaker corporate answers.
How the totals separate#
Coverage carries the flat-rate card to one of the highest totals here, at nine against six. Onboarding and integrations also favour it, both criteria where an unstated verification process still scores above a Cook Islands entity with no custody statement.
Cost is the one criterion where the fixed-fee card scores higher, on the strength of a lower percentage and a broader public price list.
Reweighting coverage downward closes most of the gap, which is the honest reading for a business with a stable, known customer base.
What to ask each of them#
To the fixed-fee provider: which regulated institution holds merchant funds, what the custody model is, and what the conversion spread costs. Three questions, none answerable from the site.
To the flat-rate provider: the conversion spread and the payout cost, which are its two unpublished components, and whether any first-party plugin exists.
To both: whether subscription retries are handled by the provider or by your code, since that is the difference between a billing product and a payment endpoint.
Where this pair actually lands#
A platform invoicing above a hundred dollars that needs fiat settlement and subscriptions takes the fixed-fee card and saves real money as the ticket grows.
A marketplace with small, frequent, unpredictable payments takes the flat rate, keeps its own keys, and never has to explain a Cook Islands entity to anybody.
Compute your own average order value first. It settles this pair more cleanly than any other line, and it takes ten minutes.
Read next
Questions merchants ask
Where is the cost crossover between them?
Around a hundred dollars per payment. Below that Radom's flat fifty cents outweighs its lower percentage; above it the fixed component fades and Radom is cheaper, increasingly so as the ticket grows.
Which one holds my funds?
NOWPayments does not — it is non-custodial and settles to a wallet you control. Radom does not state a custody model on its public pages, which is recorded as a checked absence on its card.
Is Radom or NOWPayments cheaper?
Radom publishes the lower processing rate, 0.5% against 1%. That covers processing only. Neither publishes a conversion spread, so the headline gap is a starting point rather than an answer.
Can you run Radom and NOWPayments at once?
Yes. Two gateways side by side for one month is the cheapest way to find out how each behaves on your own order flow, which no amount of documentation answers. Here it is worth doing deliberately, because only NOWPayments settles to a wallet you control, and running both shows you what that difference means on your own order flow.