Crypto Gateway Index

Industry

Crypto Payments for Retail and Point of Sale

In person crypto acceptance works when confirmation is fast enough that nobody waits at the counter. That rules out on chain Bitcoin for most retail and makes network choice the whole decision. Lightning and fast chains settle in seconds, which is the only version of this that works.

What does the counter flow look like?

The staff member enters an amount, the terminal shows a QR code, the customer scans it with a wallet and confirms. The terminal turns green when the provider considers the payment final.

The entire question is how long the last step takes. A customer standing at a till will wait a few seconds without complaint and will not wait ten minutes. Everything else about in person acceptance is downstream of that number.

Why does confirmation time decide it?

Because the provider chooses how many confirmations count as paid, and the choice trades speed against risk of reversal.

On Bitcoin, waiting for a single confirmation averages ten minutes, and waiting for three averages half an hour. Neither works at a counter. Lightning settles in seconds and removes the problem entirely, which is why the providers serious about retail are the ones with Lightning support rather than the ones with the longest asset list.

Fast chains do the same job for stablecoin payments. A USDT transfer on a quick network confirms in seconds at negligible cost, which is a perfectly good till experience.

What about the price?

Crypto prices move while the customer is scanning. Providers handle this with a quote lock, usually ten to fifteen minutes, during which the amount is fixed. Ask what happens when the lock expires mid-payment, because the answer is the difference between an automatic refresh and an argument at the counter.

Stablecoins sidestep this entirely, which is a second reason retail volume concentrates there.

Which providers offer a real POS product?

Fewer than list the feature. A hosted invoice page opened on a tablet is not a point of sale product, and it will be described as one. What distinguishes a real product is staff-facing design: fast amount entry, a clear paid state visible across a counter, a receipt, and a day-end reconciliation that a shop manager can read.

The catalogue records which providers publish a point of sale offering and which say nothing. Ask to see the staff interface rather than the customer one, since the customer side is the easy half and the half that gets demonstrated.

What the staff-facing side has to do

Amount entry fast enough for a queue, a paid state legible from across a counter, a receipt, and a day-end report a shop manager can read without training. That is the whole product, and it is the half that rarely gets demonstrated.

Ask to see the staff interface rather than the customer one. The customer side is a QR code and a confirmation screen, which every provider does adequately. The staff side is where a real point of sale product differs from a hosted invoice page opened on a tablet.

The exception handling that matters in person

Underpayment with somebody standing in front of you is a different problem from the same event online. Decide the tolerance in advance, write it on a card by the till, and give staff the authority to apply it without calling anyone.

Late payment after a quote expires is the other one. The customer sent real money against a request your system has closed, and the answer cannot be improvised at a counter with a queue behind them.

What decides viability, restated

Confirmation time, and therefore network. A stablecoin on a fast chain or Bitcoin over Lightning both resolve in seconds. On-chain Bitcoin does not, and no amount of interface design compensates for a customer waiting ten minutes.

If a provider cannot tell you how many confirmations it waits for, that is the answer to whether it has thought seriously about in-person payments. The catalogue records which providers publish a point of sale offering at all.

Where to go next

The Bitcoin page covers why Lightning rather than the base chain makes in-person acceptance work, and the USDT page covers the stablecoin alternative on fast networks. The catalogue records which providers publish a point of sale product.

Which providers accept this vertical?

Providers below name this vertical on their own public pages. That is weaker than an underwriting decision and stronger than a guess, and it is the most any index can verify without applying.

Read next

Questions merchants ask

How long does a customer wait at the till?

Seconds on Lightning and on fast chains. Up to an hour on Bitcoin if the provider waits for multiple confirmations. The confirmation policy is a provider setting and it decides whether in person acceptance is usable at all.

Do you need special hardware?

No. Most POS products display a QR code on a tablet or phone, which the customer scans with their wallet. Dedicated terminals exist and are rarely necessary for the volumes involved.

What happens if the customer underpays at the counter?

The same as online, except somebody is standing in front of you. Decide the tolerance in advance and put it on a card by the till, because resolving it in the moment is how queues form.

Do I need a separate terminal for crypto?

Usually not. Most point of sale products display a QR code on a tablet or phone the shop already has. Dedicated hardware exists and is rarely necessary at the volumes involved.

Last checked 15 days ago
What changed
Gateway Score From Assets Verification Settles fiat Discloses
Whitepay 6.8 0.4% 200 Not disclosed 68%
CoinGate 6.7 1% 10 Not disclosed Yes 89%
CoinsPaid 6.6 0.5% Not disclosed Yes 68%
OpenNode 6.1 1 Not disclosed Yes 68%
BitPay 5.6 2% 15 KYB and KYC Yes 79%