Crypto Gateway Index

Ranked #24 of 46 · checked 2026-09-02

DePay review

DePay scores 6.2 of 10 on this index and ranks #24 of 46. Processing starts at a published 1.5%. It publishes no asset count. Verification is not disclosed. It publishes 42% of the fields tracked here.

Wallet-to-wallet payments across ten chains at 1.5%, or nothing at all if you host it yourself.

Score
6.2/10
Processing from
1.5%
Assets listed
Merchant verification
Not disclosed
Custody
Non custodial
Discloses
42%

DePay at a glance

Provider site
Processing from1.5%
Conversion
Payouts
Assets listed
NetworksEthereum, BNB Chain, Polygon, Solana, Optimism, Base, Arbitrum, Gnosis, Avalanche, World Chain
Merchant verificationNot disclosed
CustodyNon custodial, settlement reaches a merchant wallet
JurisdictionSwitzerland
Operating since
IntegrationsShopify, WooCommerce, API

A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.

What can DePay do?

Mass payouts: not stated Fiat settlement: not stated White label: not stated Recurring billing: not stated Point of sale: not stated Invoicing: not stated

Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, saas.

How does DePay score?

Weights
CriterionWeightScore
Assets, networks and geography
How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works.
25 5
All-in cost
Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone.
25 7
Onboarding and verification
What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright.
20 8
Integrations and API
Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone.
18 6
Support and operations
Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends.
12 4
Weighted total6.2

DePay across the five criteria

Scored 0–10 · weighted total 6.2

Assets, networks and geography weight 25
5
All-in cost weight 25
7
Onboarding and verification weight 20
8
Integrations and API weight 18
6
Support and operations weight 12
4
Each criterion is scored 0–10 from what the provider publishes, then weighted. The bars show the shape of the card: where it is strong, where it is thin, and whether the total rests on one line or on all five.

Where it is strong

  • Publishes a self-hosted open-source tier at 0% transaction fees alongside the managed product at 1.5%.
  • Names ten blockchains explicitly, including Base, Arbitrum, Optimism and Gnosis, which almost nothing else here does.
  • States that payments go straight into the merchant's wallet with no intermediaries in the path.

Where it is weak

  • Publishes no asset count, describing support only as thousands of tokens.
  • The cheapest managed rate is unlocked by holding the provider's own token, which is a discount with a position attached.

Two products at two prices, one of which is free#

The managed service is a flat 1.5% with no additional fees, and the open-source tier is zero percent with platform features excluded. Publishing both, and stating plainly what the free one leaves out, is more candid than most of this index manages.

That structure puts the same choice in front of a merchant that BTCPay Server does, but on smart-contract chains rather than Bitcoin. Pay a percentage for a hosted product, or run it yourself and pay in engineering time instead.

Ten chains, named individually#

Ethereum, BNB, Polygon, Solana, Optimism, Base, World Chain, Arbitrum, Gnosis and Avalanche. Naming the layer-two networks rather than folding them into an Ethereum entry is a meaningful distinction, because the cost to the payer differs by an order of magnitude between them.

Base, Arbitrum and Optimism support in particular is scarce in this index, and it is where a payer holding stablecoins on a cheap network actually wants to transact. This is the clearest coverage advantage on the card.

And no asset count behind them#

Support is described as thousands of tokens across hundreds of wallets, with no figure stated for either. For a router working against decentralised liquidity that phrasing is technically defensible, since almost any token with a market can be swapped into what the merchant wants.

It is still a dash on this card. A merchant cannot plan around thousands, and the difference between a token that routes cleanly and one that routes at a punitive spread is invisible in that number.

The token-gated discount#

The published ladder runs from 1.5% standard down to as low as 0.5% at enterprise level, unlocked by volume, by holding the provider's token, or by holding an NFT. The professional tier works the same way.

A rate available only to holders of an asset the provider issues is a discount with a market position attached, and the position has its own risk. This card records the standard 1.5%, because that is the rate a merchant can take without buying anything.

Payments that land in your own wallet#

The site states that payments arrive straight in the merchant's wallet with no intermediaries. On these chains that is straightforward to arrange and it removes the counterparty risk that sits behind most cards in this index.

It also removes the fiat leg entirely. Nothing here converts to euros or dollars, so a business that needs bank money is buying half a solution and will need a second relationship for the rest.

Three integrations and a Swiss line#

Shopify, WooCommerce and WordPress are the named plugins, which covers the mass market adequately without being generous. The site says the product is made in Switzerland and stops short of naming an operating entity or a registration.

For a non-custodial router the missing entity matters less than it would elsewhere, since no company is holding merchant funds. It still leaves a compliance reviewer with a question that public pages do not answer.

Who should shortlist this#

A business selling to customers who already hold tokens in browser wallets, comfortable being paid in those tokens, and running Shopify or WooCommerce. That is a narrow audience and this card serves it better than the general processors do.

The open-source tier makes it worth a look for anybody with an engineer and an objection to paying a percentage. The custody guide covers what you take on along with the savings.

Where DePay sits in the index#

Strong on networks and on the honesty of its pricing ladder, weak on everything a conventional merchant checks: no asset count, no fiat, no verification detail, no named entity. Eleven of nineteen fields on this card are recorded as unpublished.

Everything above came from the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. This is a web-native payment router rather than a merchant gateway, and comparing it against the general processors on their own terms will always flatter them.

How should you read this card?

The score of 6.2 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.

The disclosure figure of 42% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields DePay publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. If you are already using DePay and looking to leave, the switching page covers the closest replacements.

What DePay does not disclose

Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-02. DePay does not publish what conversion costs, what payouts cost, how many assets it supports, what merchant verification it requires, founded, whether mass payouts are supported, whether it settles to fiat, whether white label is available, whether recurring billing is supported, whether it offers point of sale, whether it offers invoicing.

Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.

DePay compared

All comparisons

Where else DePay appears

Questions about DePay

Is DePay legit?

DePay does not publish a founding date and is based in Switzerland. It publishes 42% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.

What does DePay charge?

The published processing rate starts at 1.5%, checked 2026-09-02. Conversion cost is not published, so this is a floor rather than an all-in figure.

Does DePay require KYC?

DePay does not publish its merchant verification requirements. That is a planning risk rather than an answer, and it is why this card scores as it does on onboarding.

What are the best DePay alternatives?

The three closest substitutes are NOWPayments, Plisio, Cryptomus. Which one fits depends on whether you are leaving over cost, coverage or onboarding.

Last checked 13 days ago
Sources
  1. depay.com/
  2. depay.com/pricing