Crypto Gateway Index

Ranked #36 of 46 · checked 2026-09-06

Speed review

Speed scores 5.6 of 10 on this index and ranks #36 of 46. Processing starts at a published 1%. It lists 3+ assets. Verification is not disclosed. It publishes 74% of the fields tracked here.

Lightning-first gateway for Bitcoin, USDT and USDC: no fee until 0.5 BTC of volume, 1% after, sub-second settlement.

Score
5.6/10
Processing from
1%
Assets listed
3+
Merchant verification
Not disclosed
Custody
Custodial
Discloses
74%

Speed at a glance

Provider site
Processing from1%
Conversion
Payouts0% processing until 0.5 BTC received in total; withdrawals to your own wallet at network cost; custom plans above 10 BTC a month
Assets listed3+
NetworksLightning, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron, TON, Solana
Merchant verificationNot disclosed
CustodyCustodial, the provider holds funds before settlement
JurisdictionNot stated on the provider's public pages
Operating since
IntegrationsWooCommerce, Shopify

A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.

What can Speed do?

Mass payouts Fiat settlement: no White label: not stated Recurring billing: not stated Point of sale Invoicing

Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, saas.

How does Speed score?

Weights
CriterionWeightScore
Assets, networks and geography
How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works.
25 4
All-in cost
Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone.
25 7
Onboarding and verification
What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright.
20 6
Integrations and API
Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone.
18 6
Support and operations
Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends.
12 5
Weighted total5.6

Speed across the five criteria

Scored 0–10 · weighted total 5.6

Assets, networks and geography weight 25
4
All-in cost weight 25
7
Onboarding and verification weight 20
6
Integrations and API weight 18
6
Support and operations weight 12
5
Each criterion is scored 0–10 from what the provider publishes, then weighted. The bars show the shape of the card: where it is strong, where it is thin, and whether the total rests on one line or on all five.

Where it is strong

  • A published rate with a published free allowance: nothing until half a Bitcoin of cumulative volume, then 1%, with custom pricing stated above 10 BTC a month.
  • Stablecoins over Lightning as well as on Ethereum, Tron, TON and Solana, which is the widest network list for USDT among Lightning-native providers here.
  • Payouts, invoicing and a point-of-sale app alongside the checkout, so the outbound and in-person directions exist rather than being promised.

Where it is weak

  • Three assets only. A customer holding anything other than Bitcoin, USDT or USDC cannot pay, and the network breadth does not change that.
  • Merchant verification and the contracting entity are not stated on the pricing or product pages, and there is no fiat settlement.

What the pricing page commits to#

No processing fee applies until an account has received half a Bitcoin in total; after that the rate is 1%. Businesses above 10 BTC a month are directed to a custom plan. Withdrawals go to a wallet the merchant controls at network cost, and there is no monthly charge.

That is a complete published schedule for a crypto-settling merchant, and the free allowance is large enough that a small shop may never reach the paid tier. Conversion is recorded as not disclosed because there is no fiat product, not because a spread is hidden.

Why Lightning changes the customer's cost#

Over Lightning a payment settles in under a second at a fee measured in fractions of a cent, and the provider supports USDT and USDC over Lightning as well as Bitcoin. For a merchant selling small items that is the difference between a checkout customers complete and one they abandon over a network fee.

The same stablecoins are supported on Ethereum, Tron, TON and Solana for customers who hold them there. The card's network list is unusually wide for three assets, and it is the networks rather than the assets that decide whether your customers can actually pay.

Three assets, deliberately#

The provider does not attempt breadth. Bitcoin and two dollar stablecoins cover the large majority of merchant volume in this category, and a business whose customers pay in those loses nothing to a three-hundred-asset list.

A marketplace with a long tail of assets loses sales here that it would not lose elsewhere, and the asset breadth shortlist is the place to check whether that describes you.

What is not published#

Merchant verification is not described, and the contracting entity and founding date are not stated on the pages checked. White label and recurring billing are not mentioned. Each is recorded as not disclosed.

Custody is custodial by design: funds arrive in a Speed account and are withdrawn to the merchant's wallet. The provider's positioning as an infrastructure layer for other payment companies suggests the compliance process is real, and a merchant should ask what it involves before planning a launch.

Who should not choose this#

A business that needs fiat, or one whose customers pay in assets other than Bitcoin and the two stablecoins. Both are hard limits.

A business that wants a named regulated counterparty on day one. The public pages do not provide one, and that is a fair reason to look at OpenNode or BitPay instead.

How this card scores where it does#

Cost scores well on a fully published schedule with a generous free tier. Coverage is the weak line: three assets and no fiat, partly offset by six networks. Integrations cover two plugins, an API and a POS app. Onboarding is marked down for the undocumented verification.

Support is scored on ordinary documented channels. A merchant whose customers pay in stablecoins on cheap chains can reweight coverage on the methodology page and will find this card moves up.

Where Speed sits in the index#

The most complete stablecoin-over-Lightning offer in the index, priced in full, for merchants who do not need fiat. Every figure above was read from the pricing and product pages on 2026-09-06.

Read Speed against OpenNode for the closest comparison: two Lightning-native providers, one with fiat settlement and Bitcoin only, one with stablecoins and no fiat.

How should you read this card?

The score of 5.6 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.

The disclosure figure of 74% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields Speed publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. Speed has no switching page yet, because one publishes only once three suitable replacements clear the data threshold. The head to head comparisons are the closest thing until then.

What Speed does not disclose

Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-06. Speed does not publish what conversion costs, what merchant verification it requires, founded, whether white label is available, whether recurring billing is supported.

Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.

Speed compared

All comparisons

Where else Speed appears

Questions about Speed

Is Speed legit?

Speed does not publish a founding date and does not state a jurisdiction on its public pages. It publishes 74% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.

What does Speed charge?

The published processing rate starts at 1%, checked 2026-09-06. Conversion cost is not published, so this is a floor rather than an all-in figure.

Does Speed require KYC?

Speed does not publish its merchant verification requirements. That is a planning risk rather than an answer, and it is why this card scores as it does on onboarding.

What are the best Speed alternatives?

This index has not yet published a switching page for Speed. The catalogue is ordered on the same weights and is the place to start.

Last checked 9 days ago
Sources
  1. www.tryspeed.com/pricing
  2. www.tryspeed.com/