Crypto Gateway Index

Ranked #6 of 46 · checked 2026-09-06

Bitcart review

Bitcart scores 7.1 of 10 on this index and ranks #6 of 46. Processing starts at a published 0%. It lists 50+ assets. Verification is none stated. It publishes 84% of the fields tracked here.

Open-source, self-hosted processor with no fees and no third party, covering 50+ assets including Monero and Lightning.

Score
7.1/10
Processing from
0%
Assets listed
50+
Merchant verification
None stated
Custody
Non custodial
Discloses
84%

Bitcart at a glance

Provider site
Processing from0%
Conversion
PayoutsNone: funds arrive in your own wallets; you pay for hosting and the customer pays network fees
Assets listed50+
NetworksBitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, Tron, BNB Chain, Polygon, Monero, Litecoin
Merchant verificationNone stated
CustodyNon custodial, settlement reaches a merchant wallet
JurisdictionOpen-source project without a legal entity
Operating since2018
IntegrationsWooCommerce, Shopify

A dash means the provider does not publish the figure, not that we did not look. Fee figures come from the provider's own pricing page.

What can Bitcart do?

Mass payouts: not stated Fiat settlement: no White label Recurring billing: not stated Point of sale Invoicing

Verticals the provider names publicly: ecommerce, high-risk, nonprofit.

How does Bitcart score?

Weights
CriterionWeightScore
Assets, networks and geography
How many assets and chains are live for merchants, and in which markets settlement actually works.
25 7
All-in cost
Processing percentage, conversion spread and payout cost taken together, not the headline number alone.
25 10
Onboarding and verification
What a merchant must submit before going live, how long it takes, and which verticals are refused outright.
20 8
Integrations and API
Maintained plugins, API surface, webhook reliability and whether a developer can reach a test transaction from public docs alone.
18 5
Support and operations
Reachable channels, published response commitments, and documented handling of underpayment and wrong-network sends.
12 3
Weighted total7.1

Bitcart across the five criteria

Scored 0–10 · weighted total 7.1

Assets, networks and geography weight 25
7
All-in cost weight 25
10
Onboarding and verification weight 20
8
Integrations and API weight 18
5
Support and operations weight 12
3
Each criterion is scored 0–10 from what the provider publishes, then weighted. The bars show the shape of the card: where it is strong, where it is thin, and whether the total rests on one line or on all five.

Where it is strong

  • No fees, no third party and no account: the software runs on your server, watches the chains and pays into wallets you control.
  • Fifty or more assets including Monero and Lightning, which is wider than BTCPay Server's default and reaches privacy-focused customers most gateways cannot.
  • A ready admin panel, a hosted store, an API and a Python SDK, so a developer can go from install to a test invoice in an afternoon.

Where it is weak

  • There is no company: support is a community and a repository, and nobody is contractually responsible when your node falls behind the chain.
  • Fiat settlement does not exist, and running the software means running infrastructure, which is a cost the zero on the fee line does not show.

What zero fees cost#

Bitcart charges nothing because there is nobody to charge. The project is open source, it runs on a server you control, and payments reach wallets you control without passing through anyone. The fee line on this card is zero and that is accurate, but the cost of running it is a machine, its upkeep and the person who keeps it synced.

For a merchant with a developer that is a bargain. For one without, the hosting bill is smaller than a percentage fee and the operational risk is larger, because a node that falls behind stops seeing payments quietly. The self-hosted shortlist covers that trade in more detail.

Why the asset list is the point#

The project supports Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum and its tokens, Tron, BNB Chain, Polygon, Litecoin and Monero, with stablecoins on the chains that carry them. The Monero support in particular reaches a segment of customers no custodial gateway in this index serves, since custodial providers cannot screen what they cannot trace.

That makes the card unusually broad for a self-hosted option and explains the coverage score. It also explains the verticals recorded: the merchants who need this list are often the ones custodial providers decline.

Custody in its purest form#

The software never holds a private key. It generates addresses from public keys you supply, watches for payments and marks invoices paid. A compromise of the server exposes order data and nothing else, which is a materially better failure mode than a custodial balance.

The same property removes the provider's ability to refund, convert or hold anything on your behalf. Refunds are transfers you sign, conversion is an exchange you use, and the key security guide is required reading before the first real payment.

Integrations and what to expect#

Plugins are published for WooCommerce and Shopify, and the hosted store and API cover the rest. That is a shorter list than a commercial provider's, and each plugin is maintained by the project rather than by a company with a support contract.

Point of sale exists as a web application and white label is inherent: the checkout is your domain and your branding because there is nobody else's to show. Recurring billing and mass payouts are not documented as features and are recorded as not disclosed.

Who should not choose this#

Any business that cannot run a server or does not want to. The zero on the fee line is paid in operations, and a merchant who expects a support desk has chosen the wrong category of product.

A business that needs fiat, or a counterparty to name in a procurement document. There is no company here to name, which is a feature for some and a blocker for others.

How this card scores where it does#

Cost carries the highest available score, since there is no fee of any kind. Onboarding scores high because there is no process, only an install. Coverage is strong on assets and absent on settlement, which nets to a good score for a self-hosted option.

Integrations are scored on two plugins, and support on a community without a contract, which is the lowest line in the index and an accurate description. Reweight on the methodology page if you have the team to run it.

Where Bitcart sits in the index#

The widest self-hosted option here, at no fee, for merchants who can operate it. Every figure above was read from the project site and repository on 2026-09-06.

The comparison to read is Bitcart against BTCPay Server: two open-source processors, one built around Bitcoin with plugins for the rest, one built multi-chain from the start.

How should you read this card?

The score of 7.1 comes from the five weighted criteria above, applied identically to every provider in the catalogue. If you weight the criteria differently, the methodology page re-ranks the whole index against your weights, and the order you get is as valid as this one.

The disclosure figure of 84% is a separate measurement and often the more useful one. It counts only the fields Bitcart publishes itself, so it predicts how much of your evaluation will happen over email rather than from documentation. Bitcart has no switching page yet, because one publishes only once three suitable replacements clear the data threshold. The head to head comparisons are the closest thing until then.

What Bitcart does not disclose

Checked against the provider's own pages on 2026-09-06. Bitcart does not publish what conversion costs, whether mass payouts are supported, whether recurring billing is supported.

Ask for each of these in writing before signing. A provider that answers a factual question with positioning has told you something useful about the next two years.

Bitcart compared

All comparisons

Where else Bitcart appears

Questions about Bitcart

Is Bitcart legit?

Bitcart has operated since 2018 and is based in Open-source project without a legal entity. It publishes 84% of the fields this index tracks. Nothing here is a security assessment: run your own checks on custody and settlement before sending volume through any processor.

What does Bitcart charge?

The published processing rate starts at 0%, checked 2026-09-06. Conversion cost is not published, so this is a floor rather than an all-in figure.

Does Bitcart require KYC?

Bitcart requires none stated for merchants, per its published documentation.

What are the best Bitcart alternatives?

This index has not yet published a switching page for Bitcart. The catalogue is ordered on the same weights and is the place to start.

Last checked 9 days ago
Sources
  1. bitcart.ai/
  2. github.com/bitcart/bitcart