21 providers · checked September 2026
Best crypto payment gateways for small business
Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10. NOWPayments follows at 8.0, then BTCPay Server at 7.7. Providers whose published rate applies from the first transaction rather than at volume, ranked for merchants processing under fifty thousand a month.
How this list was built
Providers with a published rate that applies from the first transaction, rather than a floor rate reached only at volume.
The shortlist
Weights| Gateway | Score | From | Assets | Verification | Settles fiat | Discloses |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| | 8.3 | 0.5% | 300 | KYB only | 63% | |
| | 8.0 | 1% | 350 | Not disclosed | 68% | |
| | 7.7 | 0% | None stated | No | 74% | |
| | 7.4 | 0.5% | Not disclosed | 58% | ||
| | 7.1 | 0% | 20 | KYB only | Yes | 84% |
| | 7.0 | 0% | 13 | None stated | 63% | |
| | 6.9 | 0.5% | None stated | No | 63% | |
| | 6.9 | 0.5% | 12 | Not disclosed | 68% | |
| | 6.7 | 1% | 10 | Not disclosed | Yes | 89% |
| | 6.7 | 0% | 100 | None stated | No | 89% |
| | 6.6 | 1.5% | 20 | None stated | 79% | |
| | 6.4 | 0.4% | Not disclosed | No | 58% | |
| PayCek | 6.4 | 0% | 59 | Not disclosed | Yes | 74% |
| | 6.2 | 1% | 10 | KYB and KYC | 58% | |
| | 6.2 | 1.5% | Not disclosed | 42% | ||
| | 6.1 | 0% | Not disclosed | 58% | ||
| | 6.0 | 0.99% | 19 | Not disclosed | 53% | |
| | 6.0 | 0.5% | 12 | Not disclosed | Yes | 68% |
| | 5.8 | 1.5% | 14 | None stated | No | 58% |
| | 5.7 | 0.8% | 8 | Not disclosed | 47% | |
| | 5.6 | 1% | Not disclosed | 32% |
Every provider on this list
Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check.
Widest published asset list in the category, at a flat rate, non-custodial by default.
Self-hosted open-source processor that takes no fee and never holds the merchant's funds.
Long-running processor split-priced between coins and tokens, with batch withdrawals.
No transaction fee and a 0.5% settlement fee, fiat payouts in USD, EUR and AUD, plugins for six platforms.
Charges nothing to accept and 0.23% on withdrawal, with no identity check at registration.
Non-custodial, wallet-to-wallet gateway with no merchant KYC, a 0.5% fee and a starting credit that covers the first sales.
Lowest published headline rate, with a white-label tier priced openly rather than on request.
European processor with the most completely published fee table in the index.
WordPress plugin with a flat annual licence and zero per-transaction fees, paying wallet to wallet across 100+ assets.
Publishes a separate rate for every product it sells, from 1.5% invoices to 2% white label.
Flat-fee gateway from 0.4% with free withdrawals, invoices in minutes, and plugins aimed at CIS and emerging-market merchants.
Croatian processor that charges the merchant nothing and pays out the invoice in euros.
A flat 1% from a listed public company, settling on-chain into USDC.
Wallet-to-wallet payments across ten chains at 1.5%, or nothing at all if you host it yourself.
Non custodial, free to accept, with the charge moved entirely to withdrawal.
Publishes a per-asset network fee table, which almost nobody in this category does.
Prices crypto payments at 0.5% plus a flat 50 cents and publishes a rate for every other product too.
Non-custodial payment box at 1.5% that forwards straight to the merchant's own wallet, with no verification.
Eight stablecoin-and-Bitcoin rails at 0.8%, with plugins for eight ecommerce platforms.
Non custodial by design, at a flat 1%, with the first ten payments free.
On this page
Why the entry rate is the only rate that matters here#
Volume tiers are irrelevant below the thresholds that trigger them, and several providers in the wider index advertise floors that a small merchant will never see. This list is filtered to providers whose published rate applies from the first transaction for that reason.
It is a narrower cut than the main ranking and a more honest one for this reader. A rate reached at half a million monthly is not a small business rate, however prominently it appears on a pricing page.
What actually costs a small merchant money#
Fixed per-transaction components, more than percentages. A fee with a fixed part scales with order count rather than value, so at a low average order value it can dominate the percentage entirely.
Payout frequency is the second one. Withdrawal cost is paid per withdrawal, so a business taking money out weekly pays it fifty-two times a year regardless of revenue. Setting a threshold rather than withdrawing on every balance change is the cheapest fix available.
Where to spend your limited evaluation time#
On the plugin, if you run a shop on a common platform. A first-party plugin maintained by the provider is worth more than a small rate difference, because it gets security updates and follows the platform's release cycle.
And on one live test transaction including a deliberate underpayment. It costs a few dollars, takes fifteen minutes, and tells you more than the rest of the evaluation combined. The testing guide covers what to run.
Volume floors are the thing that disqualifies you fastest#
Several providers in this index require a minimum monthly volume or a trading history before they will open an account. BVNK states half a million a month with six months of history, and B2BINPAY imposes a five thousand minimum on bank transfers that rules out its fiat rails for a small merchant entirely.
Check for that constraint before anything else. A rate comparison against a provider that will decline your application is time spent on a decision you do not get to make.
The withdrawal fee scales with habit, not revenue#
A fixed payout fee costs the same on a two hundred withdrawal as on a twenty thousand one, so a small merchant withdrawing weekly pays a percentage that would horrify them if it were quoted as one.
Two providers here invert this usefully: CoinRemitter charges nothing to accept and 0.23% on withdrawal, and Apirone charges nothing to accept and a fixed fee out. Which suits you depends entirely on withdrawal size and frequency, and it is arithmetic worth doing.
Plugins are worth more here than anywhere else#
A small business rarely has a developer on hand, so a maintained plugin is the difference between an afternoon and a contract. The WooCommerce list covers the seven providers publishing first-party WordPress integrations.
Where no plugin exists, a hosted payment button is the honest fallback. It needs no code at all and costs you automatic reconciliation, which at small volume is a trade worth making.
Support matters more and is measurable less#
A small merchant with a stuck payment has no engineering team to diagnose it, so response time is a real operational cost rather than a comfort. It is also the criterion this index can verify least, since nothing about actual support quality is publishable.
The nearest available proxy is what a provider documents: whether there is a status page, whether the docs cover failure cases, whether support hours are stated. Read those rather than the testimonials.
Start smaller than you think#
One asset on one network, one payment method, no fiat settlement in the first month. Every additional dimension multiplies the ways a small operation can get confused, and the point of the first month is to learn whether customers use it at all.
The test-mode guide covers going live safely, and the going-live part matters more than the testing part for a business that cannot absorb a payment sitting in limbo.
The refund conversation to have before the first sale#
Crypto payments do not reverse, so a refund is a new outgoing payment at the current rate, and the price move between the two is yours. For a small merchant with thin margins that is a genuine exposure rather than a technicality.
Decide the policy first: refund in the original asset, in a stablecoin, or in bank currency by another route. The refunds guide covers what each choice costs and which one customers actually accept.
The cost nobody budgets for#
Your own time reconciling. At low volume most merchants match payments by hand, and an hour a month is a real cost that no fee table shows.
A provider whose dashboard exports cleanly into your accounting is worth more than a tenth of a percent. Ask to see the export format before signing.
Start with one asset on one network#
Every additional dimension multiplies the ways a small operation gets confused, and the point of the first month is learning whether customers use it at all.
Breadth can be added in an afternoon once the flow works. A broken reconciliation across six assets cannot be unwound as quickly.
What separates the top of this list?
Speend scores 8.3 because published rate starts at 0.5% for same-currency settlement, among the lowest entry rates in this index. Its weakest point is the opposite side of the same coin: conversion pricing is not published, and the 1% figure for automatic conversion comes from secondary reporting rather than from the provider's own page.
NOWPayments sits at 8.0. The published asset list is the longest of any provider in this index, at 350+ currencies. Where it gives ground is that conversion and payout costs are not published, so the all-in figure cannot be computed from public pages.
A gap of less than half a point between two providers is inside the noise of any scoring method, this one included. When two entries are that close, decide on the constraint that disqualifies one of them rather than on the total.
What should you check before choosing from this list?
Whether the assets your customers actually hold are live for merchants in your country. Every provider here publishes a global list that is longer than the list available to you specifically, and none of them makes that gap easy to find. 12 of 21 providers on this list publish nothing about merchant verification, so plan onboarding time you cannot currently estimate.
Where should you read next?
- The full catalogue, which has every indexed provider rather than this cut of it.
- Head to head comparisons for the two providers you end up between.
- The weights, if you disagree with the order above.
- The guide on How to Choose a Crypto Payment Gateway.
- The guide on Crypto Payment Gateway Fees Explained.
Questions merchants ask
Which is the best crypto payment gateways for small business?
Speend leads this list at 8.3 of 10 on the published weights. Merchant-side model: the business passes KYB, the payer opens nothing and sees no identity check. The order changes if you weight the criteria differently, which the methodology page lets you do.
How were these providers selected?
Providers with a published rate that applies from the first transaction, rather than a floor rate reached only at volume.
What do these providers cost?
Published processing rates on this list run from 0% to 1.5%, checked August 2026. Conversion cost is the larger variable and 18 of 21 providers here do not publish it.
Is this list paid for?
No provider pays to appear, to rank, or to be described in a particular way. Order comes from the weights on the methodology page applied to the scores on each card. Commercial relationships are described on the disclosure page.